Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence is the model behind the US Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, an award process administered by the American Society for Quality (ASQ) and managed by the National Institute of Science and Technology (NIST), an agency of the US department of Commerce. This framework is used as the basis for over 70 other national Business Excellence/Quality awards around the world.

How Baldrige Works

Organisations everywhere are looking for ways to effectively and efficiently meet their missions and achieve their visions. Baldrige provides a framework to improve your organisation’s performance and get sustainable results. Whether your organisation is— large or small, service or manufacturing, education or health care, government or nonprofit, has one site or worldwide locations, Baldrige can applied to.

The model consists of seven categories:

  1. Leadership
  2. Strategic Planning
  3. Customer & Market Focus
  4. Measurement, Analysis & Knowledge Management
  5. Workforce Focus
  6. Process Management
  7. Business Results

The core concepts of the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence are:

  • Visionary leadership
  • Customer-driven excellence
  • Organizational and personal learning
  • Valuing employees and partners
  • Agility
  • Focus on the future
  • Managing for innovation
  • Management by fact
  • Social responsibility
  • Focus on results and creating value
  • Systems perspective

Click Here For Self-Assessing Your Organisation

Learn how to do a self-assessment using the Baldrige Excellence Framework and its Criteria to help your organization achieve high performance and move toward performance excellence.

Click here to read more about Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence