The EQF is a common European reference system, which will link different countries’ national qualifications systems and frameworks together.

All our courses have a level (1-8) assigned to them using the EQF (European Qualification Framework) reference system.

The eight levels of EQF cover the entire span of qualifications from those achieved at the end of compulsory education to those awarded at the highest level of academic and professional or vocational education and training. Each level should in principle be attainable by way of a variety of education and career paths.

 The EQF dose not award qualifications or awards.

The EQF uses 8 reference levels based on learning outcomes (defined in terms of Knowledge, skills, and competences). The EQF shifts the focus from input (lengths of a learning experience, type of institution) to what a person holding a particular qualification actually knows and is able to do. The world education systems are so diverse that comparisons based on inputs, say length of study, are impracticable, we found the EQF to be most suitable and adaptable referencing system suitable for our global membership.

Descriptors defining levels in the European Qualifications Framework (EQF), Each of the 8 levels is defined by a set of descriptors indicating the learning outcomes relevant to qualifications at that level in any system of qualifications.

  • Knowledge: In the context of EQF, knowledge is described as theoretical and/or factual.
  • Competence: In the context of EQF, competence is described in terms of responsibility and autonomy.
  • Skills: In the context of EQF, skills are described as cognitive and practical abilities.
Cognitive (involving the use of logical, intuitive and creative thinking) 
Practical (involving manual dexterity and the use of methods, materials, tools and instruments)

The learning outcome relevant to each level is give below:

Level 1 –

Knowledge: Basic general knowledge
Skills: Basic skills required to carry out simple tasks
Competence: Work or study under direct supervision in a structured context

The mapping of the IELTS scale to the Common European Framework above is derived from the interrelationship between IELTS and the Cambridge English Language Assessment Main Suite qualifications and the mapping of these latter qualifications to the CEFR. For further information on this Click on the image.

 Level 2 – 

Knowledge: Basic factual knowledge of a field of work or study
Skills: Basic cognitive and practical skills required to use relevant information in order to carry out tasks and to solve routine problems using simple rules and tools
Competence: Work or study under supervision with some autonomy
English Language Certificates

Level 3 – 

Knowledge: Knowledge of facts, principles, processes and general concepts, in a field of work or study
Skills: A range of cognitive and practical skills required to accomplish tasks and solve problems by selecting and applying basic methods, tools, materials and information
Competence-1: Take responsibility for completion of tasks in work or study
Competence-2: Adapt own behaviour to circumstances in solving problems

 Level 4 – 

Knowledge: Factual and theoretical knowledge in broad contexts within a field of work or study
Skills: A range of cognitive and practical skills required to generate solutions to specific problems in a field of work or study
Competence-1: Exercise self-management within the guidelines of work or study contexts that are usually predictable, but are subject to change
Competence-2: Supervise the routine work of others, taking some responsibility for the evaluation and improvement of work or study activities

 Level 5 – 

Knowledge: Comprehensive, specialised, factual and theoretical knowledge within a field of work or study and an awareness of the boundaries of that knowledge
Skills:  A comprehensive range of cognitive and practical skills required to develop creative solutions to abstract problems
Competence-1: Exercise management and supervision in contexts of work or study activities where there is unpredictable change
Competence-2: Review and develop performance of self and others

Level 6 – 

Knowledge: Advanced knowledge of a field of work or study, involving a critical understanding of theories and principles
Skills: Advanced skills, demonstrating mastery and innovation, required to solve complex and unpredictable problems in a specialised field of work or study
Competence-1: Manage complex technical or professional activities or projects, taking responsibility for decision making in unpredictable work or study contexts
Competence-2: Take responsibility for managing professional development of individuals and groups

 Level 7 – 

Knowledge: Highly specialised knowledge, some of which is at the forefront of knowledge in a field of work or study, as the basis for original thinking and/or research
Skills-1: Critical awareness of knowledge issues in a field and at the interface between different fields
Skills-2: Specialised problem-solving skills required in research and/or innovation in order to develop new knowledge and procedures and to integrate knowledge from different fields
Competence-1: Manage and transform work or study contexts that are complex, unpredictable and require new strategic approaches
Competence-2:  Take responsibility for contributing to professional knowledge and practice and/or for reviewing the strategic performance of teams

 Level 8 – 

Knowledge: Knowledge at the most advanced frontier of a field of work or study and at the interface between fields
Skills: The most advanced and specialized skills and techniques, including synthesis and evaluation, required to solve critical problems in research and/or innovation and to extend and redefine existing knowledge or professional practice
Competence: Demonstrate substantial authority, innovation, autonomy, scholarly and professional integrity and sustained commitment to the development of new ideas or processes at the forefront of work or study contexts including research
Notice: The list below is for basic guideline only.
Level 1 – equivalent to Basic Skills/Introductory
Level 2 – equivalent to Technician/Apprentice
Level 3 – equivalent to High School Diploma
Level 4 – equivalent to Year one of Degree
Level 5 – equivalent to Associate Degree
Level 6 – equivalent to Graduate Degree
Level 7 – equivalent to Post Graduate Degree
Level 8 – equivalent to Doctorate Degree

More information referring to EQF Levels is available at: